Seasons of life

The eagle eyed amongst you will notice the deplorable amount of time that has passed between me posting about my ‘waiting quilt’ and when I updated you on discovering who it was meant to be given to. *cough* nearly two years! *cough*.

I’m sorry. Once again I can only seek to reassure you that I have not abandoned either blogging or patchwork quilting. Both activities (like pretty much all other hobbies, self-indulgences, or relaxation time) simply take a back seat to the more clamouring demands of daily life with two young children. I snatch moments where I can for priority projects (that’s code for baby quilts for friends and family, emergency clothing repairs, other requests for fabric items from people I love) but not much else is possible. I know this is just a consequence of the season of life I’m in at the moment. I’m ok with that. I miss the tranquilty of patchworking and quilting but I wouldn’t give up the chaos and laughter that currently fills my days with Pip and Dot.

I’m really lucky that there is a corner of my bedroom where I can leave my sewing machine set up all the time. It’s not the best sewing setup, but having the machine out means that I see it (and think about possibilities) often, which helps make me feel like I’m still an active sewer, even when months go by before I use the machine. Having it out also means that the kids also see it and oftan ask to have a go. I say no more often than I would like because they usually ask at inconvenient times. But I’ve managed small amounts of machine sewing with both of them. With Dot, I’ve only done some decorative stitching on scrap fabrics, which she loves ‘helping’ with by pressing the button to move the needle to a resting up/down position. She’s only 2 and doesn’t have the patience for anything more involved.

Pip and I did manage to take a couple of hours recently to make a mini tote bag (10x12in) and a tiny cushion (3x4in). He was so proud of himself when he managed to control the foot pedal for a bit of it. I loved being able to share the joy of sewing with him.

Leave a comment