Japanese Sampler – Sashiko edge blocks (post 19)

My Japanese quilt is starting to take shape now. I’m beginning to get a feel for the layout and the balance between the pieced and sashiko blocks. This meant I know I would need a lot of triangle pieces around the edges to square of the quilt.

These were fun, quick little designs to play with now that I’ve done enough sashiko for this quilt to just enjoy getting on with it.

It was nice to have some quick and easy hand sewing to do in the evenings.

They’re coming along quite nicely now…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I repeated the teapot pattern (on a slightly smaller scale in one of the sashiko edges.

There is a mountain above a lake, which was a really fun one to do.

The moon and clouds is a little abstract, but I’m hoping a crescent shape in the quilting might help bring it out more.

I did a cluster of five bamboo leaves, again just picking out of the central blocks and using it to frame the quilt.

The fan motif is another repeated pattern in the triangle blocks. It looks so different in outline form. It interesting how different styles can change the same motif.

There are a couple of blossom motifs around the edge to. An orange blossom flower with a couple of leaves is pretty. I also like the plum blossom, which normally appears as a circle of three, but I just did one for the edge block.

2 thoughts on “Japanese Sampler – Sashiko edge blocks (post 19)

  1. What pattern are you using for your quilt? As soon as I am over the 2nd Carpal tunnel surgery, I am ready to start on working on my Sashiko project – LOL. But I like yours for a beginner of which I am – tried it a few years back and became side tracked.

    • A lot of the blocks are out of Susan Briscoe’s book – Japanese Quilted Blocks. Others I kind of made up or was inspired by Pinterest (I’ve linked to it in my Japanese Quilt Post 1). Overall the pattern is just kind of coming together as I go along. I rarely know how my quilts are going to turn out before I start.

Leave a Reply

