Japanese Sampler – Kimono (Post 15)

Just like you can’t have a Japanese quilt without a crane, teapot or fan. You can’t have one without a kimono.

With a little bit of internet searching I came across a series of quilts that used a really pretty kimono pattern. Working from the photos I made up my own version of the block (I’m certainly getting more confident at designing my own patterns as this quilt goes along).

I did forget about seam allowances when cutting out the pattern though so I had to be mindful of that when piecing this block. I also forgot I was supposed to have three fabrics so it ended up with just two but I still really like it.

IMG_0655

I think what I like most is that it was the right size! So this block can also go on the front of the quilt. Whoop

 

Leave a Reply

