Japanese Sampler – Silk Circle (Post 8)

After my Good Luck quilt I was feeling confident about my piecing accuracy, but nervous about my ability to accurately resize patterns.

So I decided to go for the Silk Circle Block from Susan Briscoe‘s book. I didn’t change the size at all so these pieces would be the smallest I had ever pieced. I really had to check the accuracy of my 1/4″ seam.

IMG_0662

Once I had made the circle I then reverse appliqued the block outline on top of the pieced circle. I cut away the middle and then satin stitched over the raw edge.

IMG_0663

I’m not going to lie. I am seriously pleased with myself for this block. It really pushed my ability to be precise and accurate with my sewing.

 

Leave a Reply

