Japanese Sampler – Fan (Post 3)

Having had such success (eventually) with foundation paper piecing my crane block I decided to push my skills one step further and design my own paper piecing pattern for a fan block. It was pretty fun. Once I had the full pattern drawn out to size, I just traced the different sections (plus seam allowances) onto paper to use as my pieces.

Rather than use fabric for the frame of the fan I decided to use metallic thread to keep the focus on the fabric (paper) of the fan and not make the block too fussy. I like how it turned out and I was really chuffed that my pattern worked perfectly first time

IMG_0661

Leave a Reply

