Japanese Sampler (Post 1)

For about three years now I have slowly been collecting Japanese themed fabrics with metallic elements. It was all sparked off by one of the speakers at Staffordshire Patchworkers and Quilters, Katie from Japan Crafts. She was talking about traditional Japanese textile work (kimonos, sashiko, etc..) and I just thought it all looked utterly stunning. Hence – fabric hoarding.

My quilt is … evolving. Like a lot of my quilts I didn’t plan it all out before I started. What I did decide what that it was time I did a sampler quilt (you know with actual blocks and stuff, rather than just joining bits of fabric together however takes my fancy). I figured a sampler quilt would be a good way to showcase the lovely Japanese fabrics and would be a great way to stretch my skills. I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone so rather than using white or cream for the background fabrics. I decided to go with black!

I did a lot of internet searching and found some great inspiration from other quilters but not many sampler quilts made in a Japanese style. In the end I gravitated towards Susan Briscoe‘s book ‘Japanese Quilt Blocks to Mix and Match’ so I bought myself a copy and started reading.

d9607f_885a19c1db4345f58df3d77f2cd01d13

I also did some pinning on Pinterest to give me a virtual design wall – so useful!

The quilt is still a work in progress, but I’ll post each block as it gets done so you can follow my sampler journey with me

Leave a Reply

