Childhood

At the Uttoxeter quilt show a couple of years ago I picked up a Flower Fairies alphabet panel. I’ve always loved the artwork of the flower fairies books and the panel just really appealed to me.

As I think so many of us do, I carefully placed the fabric safely in my stash and there it sat. Waiting…

Eventually I was in the mood to be selfish and do something just for me, just because I could enjoy it and it would make me happy.

I took out my flower fairies panel, cut it up, and added wonky red borders from fabric in my stash to each letter. I then put it back in the cupboard to wait again…

This time it only took me a few weeks to work out what I wanted the border to look like. I ordered some golden yellow fabric, added a simple border and then made up my quilt sandwich and quilted with an all over dogwood design.

IMG_0633

I got the idea for this quilting pattern from Elizabeth Hartman’s Oh Frannson blog. I’ve used it a couple of times now and I really love how simple it is to do but how effective it looks. Much nicer than meandering all over a quilt.

IMG_0634

Finally, I made a quilt label that reflected the mood I was in and what I needed this quilt to do for me. I made the quilt during a stressful time at work. It now hangs in my office to remind me that I can let go and just have fun every now and then. Quilt therapy at its finest!IMG_0635

One thought on “Childhood

Leave a Reply

