2014 fabriccomplishments

I’ll add photos to this post in the future but for now I just wanted to write down a list of the main finishes for 2014 because they haven’t been blogged about properly. Here we go:

Quilting in 2014:

The main effort this year was my brother’s Fire Drill Quilt. I’m annoyed with myself for not getting any decent pictures of it. The only ones I have are of husband and dog messing about with it the second after I had finished the last bit of binding.

I do have a photo of the back of the quilt (with dog). Instead of using batting I just put a white sheet in the middle and backed it with white fleece. The only bits of batting were put down the two pieced strips that weren’t fleece.

Hopefully my brother will send me some photos of the quilt in situ and in use at some point that I can share with you. I also made a couple of matching pillow cases from the leftover fabric to go with the quilt.

I also have two half finished quilts (a chevron quilt for the spare bedroom and a quilt for my sister-in-law). These will just have to be counted towards 2015 instead (assuming I finish them this year).

It was bags galore in 2014:

Mama’s laptop bag: I gave this to Mama for her birthday in March. I’m really quite pleased with how this turned out. I think it looks quite neat and it has held together so far so it can’t have been that badly made. For me I like the fact that it works just like all of the black boring laptop bags you can buy but has some funky class to it. Success

My Amy Butler Weekender Bag: For my a huge achievement was gained when I traveled to Sweden in August for a friend’s wedding and used my homemade weekender bag for all my stuff. I was only going for the weekend so I could take everything as cabin baggage. My bag held together – with no issues at all – and I didn’t even feel nervous about it’s strength. Yes!!

Ellie’s Weekender bag: Once my sister saw my weekender bag she wanted one for herself. So her Christmas present was a bright pink elephant print version with come coordinating toiletry bags. Let’s hope this one is as sturdy as my first version. It should be but as it’s a gift I can’t help but be a little bit nervous.

Yvonne and Judy’s handbags: I found a really cool pattern for a handbag while I was visiting my friend Anna in California last summer. I just wanted to try the pattern out so I cut up some old jeans and pink corduroy trousers, mixed in some leftover fabric my mum has passed to meet from a skirt she made herself, and made up a birthday bag for Yvonne. Then I dived into the fabrics I had been hoarding for Judy (they were her colours) and made her a version of the bag for Christmas. I’m still waiting for feedback on how functional the design of the bags actually is but they look cool so I’m happy.

2 thoughts on “2014 fabriccomplishments

  1. My name is alice. My mother is 91 years old and loves one of your designs and asked for a “recipe” for it. She’s been quilting for 30 years and can no longer cut the fabric. She no longer can sew by hand, but she does with a machine. It fulfills her. She fell in Love with your quilt that is in Feb of 2012, i believe the following is the URL:
    mypatchworkhome.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/image3.jpg

    Do you know if there is a “kit” for this design? I’m sure it’s an original but I had to ask. She IS my mom. 🙂 PS I am happy to pay whatever it costs for this kit.

    thank you.
    Alice Moore
    973 214 2997

    • Hi Alice,
      Thank you. I’m really touched that your mum liked my quilt. It is an original and I kind of made it up as I went along. However, I’d be perfectly happy to work with you to support your mum to make her own version if she would like to. I haven’t written a pattern before or create a kit but I’m up for the challenge if you and your mum are.

Leave a Reply

