You can never have enough teapots

This is still a very new blog and I am slowing adding posts about the quilts I have been making since I caught the quilting bug when I was at University. Today is my very first post about a new project. I’m very excited.

Before we start I should probably confess that I have a bit of a thing for teapots. Just see the post about my ‘time for tea’ quilt. Anyway, last weekend my husband and I walked into town for a gentle stroll. He caught me staring at a beautiful little tea pot in a shop window. It would be so so perfect for the lovely sewing room I’ll have when we move into our new home. Being the lovely man he is, he bought me the teapot, a little cup and a matching biscuit tray – yay!!!. He even carried the box home for me (though I think that was mainly so he could tease me by pretending to drop it or throw it into a tree every so often). Nevertheless, it made it home in one piece and here it is…

image

How perfect is that for a sewing room?

I don’t have my lovely new sewing room yet but that doesn’t stop me dreaming about it. I decided to make a heat resistant mat for my new tea set in advance of the actual sewing room. I picked out some sewing related fabrics I had hanging around from earlier projects, and chose a couple of marbled solids to complement them.

image

As it was going to be a mat for a tea set it obviously needed a teapot on it. Remembering my ‘time for tea’ quilt I chose one of the teapots from Kay Mackenzie’s Teapots 2 to appliqué book and set about using the back basting method of appliqué to create my teapot. If you haven’t tried back basting I can’t recommend it highly enough. So simple and so neat. I cannibalised an old pair of linen trousers for the background. I used a water soluble fabric pen to draw the outline of the teapot on the linen piece.

image

Then I roughly cut out bits of fabric that covered each portion of the teapot.

image

I then did a running stitch right along the marker lines. Small stitches are best so that you have lots of holes to follow later on. Once you’ve gone round a piece, trim the excess fabric so you just have enough to turn under (1/8 or 1/4 in should do it). In the picture below you can see my running stitch around the four bits of blue fabric.

image

It’s best to start with the outside pieces and appliqué all the edges that won’t be covered by another piece. To do the appliqué, you just unpick a few of the running stitches. Then turn the edge under with your needle. If you can see the marker line through the fabric then great, use that. If not, then use the tiny holes that the running stitch will have left in the fabric. Turn the top edge over until it’s holes are at the fold and make sure it is sitting on the holes in the backing fabric. A small hand whip stitch is all you need to fix the edge in place. You just work your way round the shape, unpicking the running stitch, turning the edge with the needle point and whip stitching it down.

With the teapot centre done I added a couple of borders in my sewing themed fabrics. I then lay out the backing fabric, a cheap nasty polyester batting scrap that needed using up, a layer of heat resistant batting and the top layer. The heat resistant batting is great. It has a thin layer of foil it in. I used it to make some table mats a while back and so the leftover was just right for this. I added the extra batting just to make it a bit sturdier and thicker than my table mats had been. I thread basted the sandwich every 2 inches because I was worried about something that thick wobbling about during quilting. I then casually quilted straight(ish) lines all over and bound it. Here is it…

image

Now that it’s finished I really not sure I made the best colour choices here. It might have been good to get the button fabric in the teapot somehow. But never mind, it’s finished, it’s neat enough, and it will go in my lovely new sewing room when we finally get our house.

I’m also linking up with Crazy mom quilts for the very first time after years of avidly looking at all the friday finishes. Amanda Jean’s blog was a big inspiration for starting mine so I’m delighted to be contributing to the Friday links myself at long last. Hi guys, welcome to my patchwork home

6 thoughts on “You can never have enough teapots

  1. Pingback: Tablet computer pouch redux | My Patchwork Home

Leave a Reply

