Time for tea

I have a confession to make… I am a bit of a tea set junkie. I do like tea and I love the ritual of the teapot and serving tea to guests. It’s one of the reasons I really want to visit Japan at some point. A couple of years ago, whilst browsing patchwork pictures online I came across a set of teapot quilts. They had been done in lots of different ways and styles but they all seemed to use the same template: ‘Teapots 2 to appliqué‘ by Kay MacKenzie. Well I couldn’t resist. I bought the book and made my very own teapot quilt

IMG_0800IMG_0801

The fabrics for the teapots were mainly scraps from my stash supplemented with various fat quarters that caught my eye over the months. I made all the appliqué squares first, just gently hand appliquéing them in front of the television of an evening. Then, one weekend when my husband was away and I had finished almost all of the teapot patterns in the book I decided to put the quilt together. The stripy blocks just came to me as a way of injecting a lot of colour into what would otherwise have been quite a white quilt. Although you can’t see in the pictures, the quilting is a single echo line around the tea pots. In the centre of each of the strip blocks I sewed the outline of a teacup, milk jug or sugar bowl in black and then meandered all around the rest of the block in a coordinating thread.

I was quite pleased with this quilt and it was the one I entered into my very first quilt show this year…

IMG_0905

 

 

Here it is hanging up in the show – very exciting. It didn’t win anything but the judges were quite kind in their comments so I think I’ll risk another quilt show for a different quilt in the future.

 

5 thoughts on “Time for tea

  1. Pingback: You can never have enough teapots | My Patchwork Home

  2. Pingback: Office Wallhanging | My Patchwork Home

  3. Pingback: Tablet computer pouch redux | My Patchwork Home

  4. Pingback: Japanese Sampler – Teapot (Post 4) – My Patchwork Home

Leave a Reply

