Cathedral Window Cushion

Hi,

I have a really really bad way of dealing with stress. It’s a subtle blend of procrastination and hibernation. I will find anything to do other than what I am supposed to be doing, or I’ll just go to bed for a while. However, this does mean that I can pretty much track the exam periods of my time at university based on the project I started in order to avoid revision.

One such project was this cushion cover

Cathedral Window Cushion

I had been fascinated with the Cathedral window pattern ever since I saw my Mum’s only foray into patchworking with a pink cathedral window cushion that she made when I was little. I just love the way a straight fold turns into a curve. I’ve always thought it’s a really clever trick. Cathedral window is a fantastic handwork project. I find it really useful to have a hand project on the go for when my husband and I are watching tv together of an evening and I get itchy fingers for sewing.

I used one of the leftover blues from Sophie’s quilt and added to the mix with some new fat quarters. This was while I was at uni so I didn’t have much space (or money) for a large stash. My projects tended to lead on from each other, slowly building up fabrics and using up scraps at the same time. It worked well while I was going through a blue/teal phase.

I was really really pleased with the cushion. I used it on my bed while I was a student and then it became a sofa cushion in my first home with me husband. A mealtime mishap with pasta bolognese meant that I needed to wash my cathedral window cushion for the first time. The tomato sauce came out beautifully… so did the blue colouring, right into the white background.

IMG_0988

And that is how I learnt my lesson about washing fabrics. I wish I could say I now religiously wash fabrics before I starting working with them, but I am ridiculously impatient when I have a new idea and some new fabric to play with. Some stuff gets pre-washed, but sometimes I just can’t wait. It’s why I have so many different WIP’s, and why I don’t let anyone eat near my quilts anymore.

See you soon

Reia

One thought on “Cathedral Window Cushion

  1. Pingback: My current WIPs | My Patchwork Home

Leave a Reply

